10.5 C

A Bold Step Forward: Exploring ‘Ever Onwards’ – The Deadly Winters’ Musical Renaissance


Commenced in 2019 and beset by band illnesses, global pandemonium, studio closures, travel constraints, and intermittent heavy showers, it would be understandable if The Deadly Winters chose to call it quits.

But they didn’t, and thank the gods of music!

Possibly because of the endless trauma throughout the recording, ‘Ever Onwards’ has emerged triumphant from the ashes.

Songs of beauty, sentiment, the pure joy of nature and the raucous celebration of life itself, ‘ever onwards’ is without question the undeniable front runner of The Deadly Winters catalogue to date.

In May 2023 the band marked their return by releasing a reworking of the traditional folk song “The Cuckoo”, managing to slip it seamlessly and comfortably into their distinctly styled musical canon.

Come July, BBC Radio Scotland’s Travelling Folk show made ‘The Cuckoo’ their BBC Introducing song of the week.

“There are many quite beautiful moments in this record, and we’re very proud as a band to have created it. The songs have now reached a level of maturity and depth; it almost sounds too good to be us….”

Frontman and songwriter Chris Blair

The ‘Ever Onwards’ release is accompanied by a brand new video for the song ‘Twenty Years’ created by up-and-coming film and documentary maker Rory Easton.

The release will be backed by some live shows, to say a fond but final farewell to the last few years, and hello to a bold, uncharted, and very exciting future.


  1. I’ll Be Fine – 3:00
  2. Fox A Hunting – 4:11
  3. Twenty Years – 3:35
  4. The Cuckoo – 2:39
  5. We Don’t Know – 4:35
  6. Fully Grown – 4:40


All songs written by Christopher Blair except “The Cuckoo” [Traditional]

All songs arranged by The Deadly Winters

Produced by Andy Miller at Gargleblast, Hamilton, Scotland.

Related articles


Recent articles